Vac-Tron Equipment Wins Two Manufacturing Leadership Awards

Vac-Tron EquipmentVac-Tron Equipment, one of the country’s largest producers of industrial vacuum equipment, has long been known for suctioning things like dirt, tar and sludge. But recently, the Okahumpka, Fla.-based manufacturer picked up something with shine: two Manufacturing Leadership Awards from Frost & Sullivan’s Manufacturing Leadership Council.

The prestigious awards program has honored Vac-Tron for excellence in two categories: “Product Leadership” for its work on the 2010 BP oil spill cleanup, which included the design and manufacture of industrial vacuums that collected oil from impacted beaches and waterways, and “Individual Project – Growth, Innovation, Leadership” in recognition of CEO and Founder Don Buckner’s commitment to furthering the manufacturing industry.

/** Advertisement **/

“It’s an incredible honor to be included among world-class leaders and companies that are taking innovation in manufacturing to the next level,” Buckner said. “Above all else, we consider it a testament to our team’s dedication to producing quality products that get the job done — while saving our customers time and money.”

Since founding Vac-Tron in 1997, Buckner has grown the company into a multimillion-dollar organization that has created more than 200 jobs (employees and subcontractors). He has been recognized with several honors, including being named Florida’s Entrepreneur of the Year and one of three finalists for the National Entrepreneur of the Year award by Ernst and Young (in conjunction with NASDAQ, CNN and USA Today). On July 4, 2013, Buckner unveiled his latest initiative:, a website that features the country’s largest selection of American-made products.

/** Advertisement **/

Buckner accepted the two awards at this year’s Manufacturing Leadership Summit, which took place June 3-5 at The Breakers Resort in Palm Beach, Fla. For more information on Vac-Tron, visit To learn more about the Manufacturing Leadership Awards or to see a complete list of winners, check out